Local Board Leadership Shake-Up Underway

7 of Auckland’s local board’s have been established and 6 of them have new Chairs. I went to 3 of their inaugural ceremonies.

Rodney in the north of the region met in Puhoi and my former Orakei ward colleague Cameron Brewer was sworn in as a Rodney Local Board member. The Rodney First ticket, which secured a 5/4 majority on the board, replaced former Chair Brenda Steele with Warkworth representative Beth Houlbrooke.


On the North Shore, there was a risk of peace breaking out as the split ticket Devonport-Takapuna local board agreed to share the Chair. Former Alliance MP Grant Gillon would Chair the first 18 months and former North Shore Mayor and Councillor George Wood will Chair the second period.


In central Auckland, the Waitemata Local Board also unexpectedly saw a change of Chair. Former Deputy Chair Pippa Coom, part of the 5/2 City Vision-led team on the board, has swapped her role with that of former Chair Shale Chambers.


After the first 7 local board meetings, there are 6 new chairs: 4 women and 3 men.

In addition, two-term Chair Andy Baker, part of the full board Team Franklin group, was replaced by Angela Fulljames.

In the West, Sandra Coney stepped down from Chair to be replaced by Labour stalwart and lawyer Greg Presland.

Former Puketapapa Chair Julie Fairey, wife of Labour’s Mt Roskill candidate Michael Woods also stepped down in favour of her Roskill Community Voice colleague Harry Doig (5/1 majority).

The only returning Chair so far is Leamauga Lydia Sosene of Mangere Otahuhu (Labour 6/1).











Share this post!